Skip to content

Paddy Doran Memorial Omnium (Photos)

Saturday 4th of June 2022.

Over 25 youth competitors gathered at Sundrive Velodrome for the inaugural Paddy Doran memorial Youth Omnium.

Overall Paddy Doran memorial podium dominated by Orwell wheelers –
Winner- James Cunningham 2nd Luca Holmes 3rd Davis Quinn

The day started off cool, overcast and relatively windy but the weather picked up as the day went on with a welcome arrival of the sun after midday.

The first event got under way just after half past ten, with all the competitors taking on a flying 200metre time trial to rank them on ability and then place them into separate categories based on their times. The riders were placed into four categories from A-D.

The A group was mostly made up of under 16 riders with the addition of two under 14 riders, Hugh Óg Mulhearne and George Sevasopulo. The fastest 200m time of the morning went to Evan Bernie from Navan Road Club. Evan set a time of 13.64 seconds.

Evan Bernie (Navan Road Club)

The second event of the day was a kilo dash. This entailed the riders rolling around to the final bend of the track in a line and then racing from there, passing through the finishing line with two full laps of the track to complete.

Following on from the Kilo dash the riders faced into a scratch race. The A group tackled a 16 lap race with a fine attack from Hugh Óg Mulhearne with 4 laps to go that he held until the final lap where he was passed by the oncoming train of the bunch. The win went to Luca Holmes of Orwell wheelers.

In the B’s the the 10 lap scratch race win went to Zoe Lindsay with a very strong finish. In second place was Emer Heverin followed closely by Davis Quinn and Karl Bernie.

In the C’s it was a very closely run race with the eventual winner James Cunningham taking the win comfortably with a sprint on the line for the minor placings.In 2nd place was Orla Mulhearne and third going to Shane O’ Brien who unfortunately took a tumble after crossing the finish line.

In the D category the win went to Mia Geary followed by Darragh Shakespeare with his brother Dylan taking third.

The final event, 500m time trial decided the winners from each category and the eventual overall winner.

A podium – 1. Luca Holmes (Orwell Wheelers) 2. David Harrington (Orwell) 3. Evan Bernie (Navan Road Club)

B podium– 1. Davis Quinn (Orwell) 2. Karl Bernie (Navan) 3. Zoe Lindsay (TC Racing)
C Podium – 1.James Cunningham (Orwell) 2. Katie Turner (Orwell) 3. Joann Conor (Drogheda Wheelers)
D Podium– 1.Mia Geary (Fermoy CC) 2.Darragh Shakespeare(Navan) 3.Dylan Shakespeare (Navan)

After counting up all the points from each category the eventual overall winner came from the C category, with James Cunningham from Orwell Wheelers, taking the spoils with a points total of 32, followed closely by his clubmate Luca Holmes(A) with 31 points. Rounding off the overall podium was Davis Quinn(B) on 28 points, also from Orwell wheelers.

Overall Paddy Doran Omnium podium.

Thanks to all those who made the day a great success. A special thanks goes out to Colm Sevastopulo and Hugh Byrne for putting on the event in memory of Paddy Doran who sadly passed away before his time, in 2021. Well done to all the youth competitors who raced their hearts out. Thanks to all the volunteers who make these events possible.

Race briefing.