| Sprinters League: Rd 4 Result Skip to content

Sprinters League: Rd 4 Result

Next event Saturday 8th July
Eamonn Ceannt Stadium 2pm
<Full Result from all rounds (incl Round 4) >

Report Round 4 : Great turnout for round 4 with something different this week. A focus on aspects of the Team Sprint with Standing Start 250m, Flying 500 in pairs, and finally  Team sprint itself, and all rounded off with the ever popular 1 Lap handicap!! Big changes in the overall table. Robert Deegan now heads the league on 98 points after collecting 49 points tonight. Robert Murphy moves into second on 91 points and Thomas Kabs is 3rd on 87 points. Autumn Collins is leading lady and 4th overall 85.5 points. Oisin Hogan and Tony Mairs were the highest points scorers tonight on 53 points each with Liam Collins next up on 52 points. Thanks to everyone who turned out to help and race. Made for a great nights racing. All to play for as move onto round 5.

Report Round 3:  Another good turn out today for round 3 of the sprinters league. Fastest 200m TT was Oisin Hogan with 12.53. Highest points scorer on the night was Daniel McIlroy who scored 30 points, 12 of which were for his fantastic lunge to win the 500m handicap by a tyre from league debutant Anne Coleman who also scored 19 points on the night. Great to see Susie Mitchell back in action and handing out some lessons in the process of winning 20 points on the night (less than 10 weeks after the birth of her second child). In the overall league standings Autumn Collins moved into 2nd place overall just 1.5 points behind series leader Andrew Teggart with Thomas Kabs a close 3rd.

Sprinters League : The Sprinters League will take place at the Sundrive Velodrome commencing on April 1st with events every 3 weeks approximately. The aim is to give sprint focused riders some good quality sprint racing and a chance to prepare for major sprint events such as the National Championships, Masters Championships etc.

Men’s Tournament Structure for each round
It will start with half an hour on track warm up, then a 200m time trial to see riders and split them into A, B and C sprint draws. The top 20 riders from the a 200m qualifying time trial will enter the sprint draw, there will be consolation races for other riders.  If time allows there will also be an additional Sprint event (Team Sprint, Keirin, Kilo).

Women’s Events
There will be a women’s sprint league with separate races at every round.  As we are less sure on numbers the format of this is flexible dependant on the number of entries.  All riders will get at least a qualifying time trial and 2 sprint rounds. You may also get Keirin’s, 500m TTs and Team Sprints.

Dates / Provisional Format
2017 Sprinters League (Sundrive)

Saturday 1st April 2pm   (F200/MS/Keirin)
Saturday 29th April 2pm (Flying 460m Lap/ MS/1Lap Handicap)
Saturday 20th May 2pm (F200/MS/750) Defferred to 28th May 2pm
Saturday 10th June 2pm (MS/TS/Keirin)
Saturday 8th July 2pm     (SS500/3 Up Sprint/ 1 Lap Handicap)
Saturday 29th July 2pm * (F200/MS/Kilo)
Saturday 12th August 2pm (MS Ladder Match Sprint / TS Team Sprint)
*Option of a Sunday Morning Session to make one of these a 2 Day for UK visitors