| 2017 | August Skip to content

You are viewing the date archive for August2017.

Ulster retains Inter-Provincial title at Orangefield

The sun shone (mostly) on the cream of Ireland`s Youth Track Cyclists in Belfast at the weekend where the competition for the Inter-provincial Championship, and the Seán MacAogin trophy took place at the Orangefield Track.

Inter-Pro 2017B

In the `senior` Under 16 Category, Leinster`s David O`Sullivan took the competition to Ulster, narrowly losing out on the win in the 500metre Time Trial by less than half a second, but getting his own back by taking the win in the 3k Scratch. The Ulster nemesis on both occasions was recent European Youth Olympic rider Shay Donley.

Leinster also provided the winner of the Under 14 Time trial in the shape of Andrew Kelly, but Ulster were dominant in the Scratch event, taking all four points-scoring places.

Likewise in the Under 12 category, it was Ulster`s Girls – Katie Neill, Maria McAllister and Amber Young who dominated the events but spirited performances by Leinster riders saw the competition tight throughout the day.

At the end of a full day`s competition, with emphatic wins in the Team and Italian Pursuit events, Ulster again ran out the winners of the competition and will have their name engraved on the Seán MacAogin trophy for the 4th year in succession.

Well done to all riders and the Provincial Coaches and Managers who made the event a success once again.

Anthony Mitchell
Continue reading Ulster retains Inter-Provincial title at Orangefield

Comments closed

Madison Training Session – Monday 21st

There will be a final Madison SQT for those who wish to participate in the years Madison Demo Event on Sunday 27th at Sundrive. All riders must be passed as competent to conduct changes from within the race line and please find attached a list of rider attendance from our training sessions, and a list of riders who in consultation with Fintan have shown a reasonable competency to allow them to participate.  Our first training session just had the madison changes which of course is the first step. Subsequent sessions focussed on the changes from within the line.  Riders who wish to ride, need to complete the process, to allow us to conduct this event safely.  This event (for this year) is open to Junior/Senior/Masters and for this year you may ride with a rider from another club.  Riders who have raced Madison are deemed to be competent. In the interest of rider safety we and as this is a demo event, we will be limiting entry to a max of 12 teams.  This next session is just for those who definitely intend riding the Demo event, and those who have been passed competent would also benefit from the session.
<Attendance List>

Continue reading Madison Training Session – Monday 21st

Comments closed

National Senior Track C/ship (Entry now Closed)

National Senior Track Championship

<Online Entry Form>
* Entry closes TODAY Monday 21st August *
Entry Fee €10 per event

Saturday 26th August
Senior Men’s 4k Pursuit (17)
Senior Women’s 3k Pursuit (21)
Senior Men’s Sprint (12)
Senior Women’s Sprint (15)

Sunday 27th August
Senior Women’s 500m TT (21)
Senior Men’s Kilo TT (16)
Senior Women’s Scratch 10k (26)
Senior Men’s Scratch 15k (23)

Men’s Madison (18)
Women’s Madison (17)

 Also on Sunday

Men’s Madison Demo Event (Sen/Vet)?Jun
Women’s Madison Demo Event (Sen/Vet/Jun)
Entry Fee €5 per rider

*The event require previous Madison Race experience or passed competant at the Madison SQTs at Sundrive Velodrome.  Ability to make the changes within the pace line required.
*It is preferable for riders to pair with rider from their own club, but as this is a Demo event you can ride with a rider from another club (which may or may not be the way it will be going forward).
Minimum number of Teams required 6/ Max for this event 12.
*This year it is open to Junior/Senior/Masters but again these are the paremetors for this year only.

Entries  (See below) Continue reading National Senior Track C/ship (Entry now Closed)

Comments closed

Sean Mac Aoghain Trophy

Sean Mac Aoghain Trophy
Inter-provincial Track Competition
Orangefield, Sunday 14th August
Sign on 10- 11
Open Track 1030 to 1100

Provincial Teams to Anthony Mitchell before Midnight of Thur. 11th August.

(Format) Continue reading Sean Mac Aoghain Trophy

Comments closed

Sprinters League : Final Round (Result)

Final Event Saturday 12th August
Eamonn Ceannt Stadium

Report Final Round :-  The 2017 sprinters league came to a conclusion last night with a record turnout of 18 riders taking to the start line. Last night saw Jim Sullivan from Brixton cc compete in the league. We plan on expanding this concept next year with riders from Sundrive attending the Herne Hill league. More details on this in due course. Back to the racing. An entertaining evening of racing saw newly crowned National Keirin Champion Tony Mairs dominate the nights proceedings. Setting his stall out with a remarkable 11.27 secs for the 200m, Tony went on to win all his match sprints, although pushed closely by rising star Rob Deegan. Race of the night was the dead heat between Rob Deegan and Jim Sullivan. With Jim earlier providing a master class in how to control the track in a 3 up with Tony and Rob. Darragh Zaidan showed he’s coming into form ahead of his defence of his National Pursuit Title when winning a few match sprints. A personal best on the night for Eddie Lynch saw Eddie break 13 secs for the first. While Tony Mairs amassed the most points on the night with 30 points it wasn’t enough to overhaul Rob Murphy who ran out overall winner of the league. Rob finished out with a total of 163 points which put him 8 clear of Tony with Rob Deegan in 3rd spot on 145.5 points. In fourth place and first lady was Autumn Collins with 135.5 points. Anne Coleman in 9th place with 99 points was 2nd lady. Special mention to Olivia Cannon our youngest competitor who also compiled the results on the night after completing her 200m tt. A total of 40 riders competed in the league. The leading riders will now travel to the UK to compete at a UK sprint meet this Autumn. More details to follow. Finally, a bug thanks to all those that helped out, with special mention for Hugh Byrne, Ger Ivory and Colm O’ Cuinneagain .

<Full Result from all rounds to date (incl Final Round ) PDF >
<Results XLS File>

Continue reading Sprinters League : Final Round (Result)

Comments closed